Monday, October 4, 2010

I'm gonna tri this now.....

Hi.  My name is Robyn.  I'm a short, round 45 year old woman.  Life has really been working me over the last year or so, showing me how strong I really am.   I've learned a lot of lessons, which, have become some of the funniest bar stories there are.  I work with 40 women, we rarely agree on anything, don't you dare hurt one of us or you deal with all of us.  Some of us are closer than others.  Once in a while you come across a person that you share everything with.  Someone who knows more about you than any other person.  Well, that person for me is my best friend Devon, she's been through the tears, cheers and she's even pledged to toss me off a mountain strapped to a sled if I'm ever paralyzed....yes, I asked her to....isn't that what friends do?  She is also in charge of property destruction if something bad happens to me.  You get the idea.

Well one day Devon asks me if I want to participate in a Triathlon with her and Glenda.  My obvious answer was HELL NO....ARE YOU NUTZ?  I've seen those people on TV running until they are messing their shorts, falling down and doing crazy stuff...no....not now....not ever....get away from me you sadist!   I thought it over and decided I would follow them in my truck and pick up their lifeless and possibly pooh covered bodies to drag them back home.  Mostly because this plan included hanging in a hot tub and having a few drinks the night before the big event.  Honestly, I didn't think they would do it.  People are crazy.

Flash forward a few months.  It's the day before the AFLAC Iron Girl Triathlon in South Lake Tahoe.  The team, Devon, Glenda and Roxanna are already there doing the pre-tri thing (it sounds like it was worth the entry fee just to go hang out there on the day before).  I'm on my way up the hill to South Lake Tahoe, Tiki
(another sister from work) is on her way up the hill also.  As it turns out we all arrived at the house about the same time.  The beer was cold, the hot tub was warm (which is the way I like it) the atmosphere was awesome.  We had an awesome dinner.  Everyone hopped into the hot tub, we took turns sitting in the corner with no seat  - ok - i sort of stood in the corner - I'm short - what can I say....  The superstars bid us good evening at 9:30.  The rest of us stayed in the hot tub and had an impromptu intervention (thanks guys - I'm listening).  We talked until after mid-night.  That weekend was starting out so great, my best friend and sisters were about to do something I was more than terrified to even try.  My good friend Tiki and I admitted we are both butt heads and hugged ending an agonizing year plus of missed memories.  I was smiling for so many reasons, honestly, life was good.

Aflak......AFlak......AFLAK!!!!!!  It's 4:30 AM and Roxanna stepped on the Aflak duck - so our morning started with uncontrollable laughter and huge silly smiles.  We rushed the superstars out the door, cleaned, packed and zipped down the hill to watch THE EVENT.  I was so nervous, what if I really did have to drag one of them home?   These girls are WACK JOBS for even trying this.   We got to the staging area, made signs, it was talk like a pirate day also!! Argh!!  Then we raced to the beach.  As we got closer....you couldn't help but move to the music.  Then we saw them...seas of yellow swim caps, fields of green swim caps and a whole bunch of red ones.  Devon explained they were the age groups - then - it was very clearly pointed out that  if I had been participating I wouldn't have gotten a green cap with them...I would have been with the old geezers in the red caps.  The music was loud and up so no one died because of that comment.  Soon the green wave entered the water....I jumped around screaming as loud as I could, mostly in an effort to avoid tears.  If I stopped screaming the tears were going to flow, yeah, weird I know.  As soon as the girls hit the water they all looked the same. We ran to the exit mat, raised our signs and screamed for everyone coming out of the water.  The air was alive.  Soon we were on our way up the hill to the bikes.   The girls had gotten separated by now, Christina and I walked with Roxanna, we hopped she knew where the heck she was going.  Soon she entered the staging area, got on her bike and rode away.  Left with not knowing anyone we cheered for everyone, high fives, knuckle bumps we stopped short of that thing fat guys do when they run at each other and smack bellies.  We caught glimpses of the girls coming in from the bike ride then taking off for the run.  We screamed and cheered, tryin to hide more tears.  As Glenda ran down the chute to begin the 5K Santos was running along side her cheering her on.  A contestant ran up to him and asked if that was his wife - he proudly said she was.  This woman who had already swam, biked and ran asked if he thought Glenda would mind the company.  That, that was the spirit of the weekend....  Women without bitchiness.  It was so inspiring to stand there.  I was wearing cowboy boots and jeans and I wanted to jump that fence and run with Roxana.  Mind you I HATE FREAKING RUNNING!, but I felt like I could do it.  Yeah, I was probably still a bit tipsy from the night before, I blame the tears on that also.  :)  So, our girls finished, they finished.....THEY FINISHED!!  (no one poohed themselves, thank heavens).

That's how I got here.  Something took a hold of me there in the parking lot and said, "you gotta do this, you have to experience this and you've got to tell everyone you're going to do it!"  Thank heavens I don't listen to the voices in my head all that often....this time I did.  So, if you like, come along with me.  I can guarantee there will be lots of laughing, a little crying, some cussing and major amounts of celebrating along the way.       

No comments:

Post a Comment